Illustrating my picture book

Staring all day at a computer screen is not recommended. And when doing illustrations on computer software this can become a problem. The glare from the computer screen tires my eyes and I become blind to my drawing mistakes. This is the main reason why I print my illustrations before finalising and sending them off to the printers. Looking at the illustrations on paper I tend to find all those mistakes that I’d missed on the monitor, like composition, contrast or even weird character poses/expressions.

I print everything twice; once in black and white (which is sufficient to detect any problems / errors) and again when I’ve made the necessary amendments; I print the illustrations in colour. The colour copy gives me a pretty good idea of what the final printed copy is going to look like and a last chance to amend anything I’m not happy with.

illustrating a picture book

work in progress 🙂

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on October 7, 2013, in My Monster and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

