“The Iris” or “The Sheffield Advertiser”

“The Iris” or “The Sheffield Advertiser”A few days ago, while visiting my parents-in-law, I was shown a copy of “The Iris” or “The Sheffield Advertiser”. The date on the newspaper, shown on the picture, is June 1824 but the paper is a reprint, issued in 1879. Reading some of the articles in the newspaper made me realise just how quickly a language can change. I really struggled to understand what I was reading. It was obvious that some words, even though still used today, had a totally different meaning back then.

“The Iris” or “The Sheffield Advertiser”

I really enjoyed looking at the design of the newspaper as well. The style is beautiful and I was really impressed with all the gorgeous and stylish fonts.

 

 

I’m definitely going back to it for inspiration when designing the fonts for my Amelia Dyer picture book as the style matches perfectly.

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on January 4, 2014, in Amelia Dyer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Sounds wonderful, a place of old world font heaven, as an x-graphic designer it would be interesting to hold and read this. Layer upon layer of research will make your book wonderful.

  2. Hello,
    I’m doing a project on James Montgomery, the editor of the paper, for Sheffield Cathedral.
    It is a voluntary project as part of my university degree and I as really hoping to use that image of the paper, if that’s ok with you?
    Its’ an amazing piece of history and it will not be used for profit!

    • Hi Haleema, yes please go ahead and use the photos for the project. And if possible, do send me a digital copy on completion as I’m curious to read it. I know nothing about James Montgomery. Good luck with your project! Gustavo

      • Haleema Khan

        Thank you so much, I really appreciate that!I’m sending the booklet via attachment but please bear in mind that it is a rough draft and I am no graphics student. Best,Haleema

      • Thank you! I look forward to reading it and learn something about James Montgomery.

Leave a Reply

