Character Design – young Amelia Dyer

The main challenge in illustrating Amelia is that she goes from baby to a grown-up woman in about 850 words, less than two A4 pages. In a quick series of illustrations she transforms from baby to toddler to teenager and finally to a grown-up. I want the reader to be able to immediately identify her in the illustrations and I thought that one way of doing this is by giving her an easily recognisable trait; like Pippi Longstocking-inspired plaits. Now I still need to design Amelia as a grown-up, and those plaits might look ridiculous on an adult. If they do I’ll just give her another trait, like big crooked teeth.

Young Amelia Dyer G Olivo

Young Amelia Dyer

Young Amelia Dyer G Olivo

Young Amelia Dyer, with old photo effect

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on April 6, 2014, in Amelia Dyer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love it, how about a scar or one blue eye and one green eye, may as well go all out Gustavo.

    • The scar is a brilliant idea! Thanks Kath! I might do all illustrations in black and white so the colours of her eyes might not work on this, but I love the idea. I recently watched Frozen where the two princesses go from toddlers to young women and I noticed that the writers chose the hair as the girls’ recognisable trait.

  2. Nice stuff. As a heterochromiac myself (brown/hazel), the suggestion on the eyes is brilliant – they don’t wrinkle with age.
    As for animations, I mess with .gifs occasionally but they’re tedious. Sometimes the mistake is better than the original intention.

    • Thanks for the comment Tacky Raccoons! Yes animation can be tedious especially for me who has had no official training in animation. But it’s fun and when you get it right it’s so satisfying 🙂

Leave a Reply

