Vintage Books

The cover of my Amelia picture book will mimic that of an old, tired book cover. I want the inside pages of my book to look old and stained too. So I’ve been travelling around London, visiting different second hand shops and markets for books that will help me achieve this look. I haven’t had much luck in finding any that would be appropriate for the task – and those that are tend to be beyond the tight budget I am working to! Most lack blank pages, and tend to carry pages with dense text instead.

But another requirement was that the cover and pages need to have been damaged by age. I wasn’t having much luck until I came across a book market on Marchmont Street, central London. Not only did they have exactly what I was looking for, they were selling them for next to nothing too.

The book market on Marchomont street

Most of the books that I purchased were early 19-century law books. And while the content was tedious, the covers were beautiful. I thought it’d be nice to share with you some of the books that I brought back home with me.

The texture of this gorgeous leather-bound book will be used for my Amelia cover.

The texture of this gorgeous leather-bound book will be used for my Amelia cover.

I purchased an old copy of “The Vicar of Wakefield” (1913 edition) and I absolutely love the illustrations in this book.

Vicar of Wakefield (1913 edition)

Vicar of Wakefield (1913 edition)

Vicar of Wakefield (1913 edition)

This is another little gem I found in the book market. It contains 52 illustrations (plates) and was published in 1937 in commemoration of Australia’s 150th Anniversary. Below are some of my favourite plates (which have been glued to the pages, which makes me believe only a limited number of books were produced).

Australia’s achievement in Art

Australia’s achievement in Art

Australia’s achievement in Art

Australia’s achievement in Art

Australia’s achievement in Art

Australia’s achievement in Art

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on December 20, 2014, in Amelia Dyer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow I love how you go about things Gustavo. Any book store is like walking into a lolly/sweet shop for me. Love that old cover and the beautiful old books to found. Looking forward to seeing how it all turns out. Merry Christmas and happy hunting.

Leave a Reply

