Haunted by Amelia Dyer’s ghost…

young Amelia Dyer

Young Amelia Dyer

… well, at least that’s what it feels like!  In the past 10 months I’ve learnt a lot of new tricks and techniques about illustrating in 3D.  These have given me a few thoughts about my Amelia Dyer illustrations. Looking at them now, just over a year after completing them, they look a bit amateurish and flat.

So I now have this little nagging voice in my head saying I should redo them all, and start working on the 2nd edition of my horror story. The Amelia Dyer story is my most successful picture book in terms of sales so I feel obliged to improve on the illustrations in the book.   

I’m currently working on my third children’s book so this must be prioritised.  Once I’ve completed that, rather than start on a new original story, I will go back to my Amelia Dyer’s illustrations. Although it feels like the work is never ending, I’m pretty much looking forward to revising and improving the illustrations.

It feels like I can’t escape the ghost of Amelia Dyer.  It’s forever drawing me back; it’s the Amelia Dyer curse!

Amelia Dyer's ghost

Amelia Dyer’s ghost

 

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on July 31, 2016, in Amelia Dyer, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

