Getting somewhere (slowly).

It’s been almost three years since I started working on my book “Pete and the Enchanted Book”. And it was only today that it hit me – I’m actually getting somewhere. Writing and illustrating a picture book is such a humongous project that getting to the end is not something I care to think about because the end always feels so far away.

But today I realised that I’ve reached an important milestone. The drafts for most illustrations are done. I still have loads of work left – but we’re talking months not years now. Not even a year! Now that put a smile on my face.

Anyway, here’s the latest illustration that I completed this evening.

Pete and the enchanted book

Pete and the enchanted book

 

About G. Olivo

I love children’s picture books, Disney and Pixar animation and a lot of my illustrations tend to reflect my love for comics, cartoons and picture books.

Posted on April 2, 2017, in Pete and the Enchanted Book and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Its awesome! You are such an inspiration Gustavo. I am giving myself a push to finish my first book by June well, at least be happy with all illustrations. I told myself one a week will be achievable and already i find myself behind a week on this challenge. I admire your work ethic as I have seen you produce many of your dreams into reality. Well done it must feel so good to be able to then start your next project. My husband has been saving a little each week for my printing costs and that will be our next challenge finding a place that does a small print run.
    Kath

    • Thanks Kath! I look forward to reading your picture book! Yes, it’s worth doing some research before deciding on a print company as prices can vary significantly (at least in the UK). All the best and I look forward to reading about your progress 🙂

Leave a Reply

